ATHENA Award Recipients Announced

Ande and Leah

Newly honored ATHENA Young Professional Ande Burke (left) and ATHENA Dr. Leah Bornstein (right).

The Greater Flagstaff Chamber unveiled the recipients of the 25th Anniversary ATHENA and ATHENA Young Professional Awards at its Annual Meeting on January 24, with the originator of the international award – Martha Mertz – on hand to present the honors.

Dr. Leah Bornstein, president of Coconino Community College, was given the traditional ATHENA Honor while Ande Burke, marketing director at Mountain Heart Health Services, took home the Young Professional award.

Greater Flagstaff Chamber President/CEO Julie Pastrick noted that with 10 nominees in all, it had been a difficult decision for the judges.

ATHENA Award nominees and recipients are outstanding women who have demonstrated excellence, creativity and initiative in their careers; provided valuable service to improve the quality of life for other in their community; and assist other women in reaching their full leadership potential.

In 2007, the Greater Flagstaff Chamber added the ATHENA Young Professional Award to recognize emerging leaders who serve as a role model for young women professionally and personally.

Many former ATHENAs attended the meeting to celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the awards in Flagstaff. They were all given cards from ATHENA International outlining the eight core values common to ATHENAs – the authentic self, relationships, giving back, collaboration, courageous acts, learning, fierce advocacy and celebration & joy.

All the Athenas

From left: ATHENA International Founder Martha Mertz; 2008 Young Professional recipient Sara Herron, 2013 Young Professional recipient Ande Burke, 2013 ATHENA Dr. Leah Bornstein, 2012 ATHENA Bonnie Stevens, 1993 ATHENA Marj McClanahan, 1999 ATHENA (and Greater Flagstaff Chamber President/CEO) Julie Pastrick, 2000 ATHENA Dr. Kathy Turner, 2003 ATHENA Coral Evans, 2009 ATHENA Janetta Beaumont, 2005 ATHENA Helen Hudgen Ferrell, 2007 Young Professional Heidi Hansen, and 2009 Young Professional Emy Tice.


%d bloggers like this: